Payments are done securely through Stripe (one of the leading payment processors in the world). You can find more information about Stripe's security here: https://stripe.com/docs/security/stripe.
Go to Account & Settings > Integrations & Add-Ons > Website Booking Plugin > Settings.
On the "General Settings" page, scroll to the bottom of the form and check the "Enable Payments" option under the Payment Settings section. This will expand the form and allow you to:
- Select the tax treatment option to apply to the cost of booked/enrolled lessons.
- Customize the "Declined Payment Instructions". This message is displayed after the payment declined message returned by Stripe.
Once enabled, the booking form will include a payment section where users can review pricing, enter their credit card details and pay for their lessons, classes or courses. This section will only appear if the cost of their selection is greater than 0.
If the payment goes through successfully, the following will happen in the background:
- An invoice will be generated automatically with the lessons the student booked or joined.
- A payment will be recorded and allocated to the invoice automatically and the invoice will be marked as "Paid".
- A payment receipt will be sent to the customer (if you have this option enabled in your account settings).
If the card is declined, users will see the error message returned by Stripe followed by your selected Decline Payment Instructions and the booking/enrollment will not be completed.
How Costs are Set for Classes and Courses
When customers use the Website Booking Plugin, they may be logged in/not logged in which could affect the cost of the classes.
If a student is not logged in, their default billing method will be set to "Use Service List Cost". If a student is logged in, the billing method on their profile will be used to determine costs.
If you want to ensure the cost for every student is the same, you will need to use the Cost Override feature (use Custom - Unadjusted).
If a student's billing method is set to "Package Billing", the cost of their lessons is automatically set to zero. So, if they login while joining a class or a course through the Website Booking Plugin, they will not be prompted to pay since the cost of their individual lessons will be set to zero automatically.
If you would like to charge all students enrolled in the class/course the same amount, you'll need to use the override feature.
Please note: this only applies to Joining Classes or Courses. Lesson Bookings will use the pricing set on the Booking Option.
Saving Credit Card Details
Credit cards are charged, but credit card details are not saved to customer profiles. If you would like to collect credit card details from customers, you can follow these steps: Adding Credit Card Details to Client Profiles